Skip To Main Content

About Our District

        Carlisle County Schools serves students from pre-k to 12. Preschool and Headstart jointly serve 3 and 4 year old students. Carlisle County Elementary School serves students through the fifth grade. Carlisle County Middle School serves grades 6-8 and Carlisle County High School serves grades 9-12. Carlisle County High School was consolidated in 1957 from Arlington, Bardwell, Cunningham, and Milburn High schools. The first Carlisle Comet basketball season was 1957-58, the first graduating class in the spring of 1958.

        Since 1921, nearly 70 Carlisle County residents have served as members of the board of education. Many of those serving more than one term. During that time period the district has had 13 superintendents.

         As an opportunity to support and enhance the opportunities for our young people, the Carlisle County Education Foundation was formed. It is supported by generous gifts from friends and alumni. Tax deductible donation can be sent to

                       Carlisle County Schools Future Fund 

                       P.O. Box 7901,

                       Paducah, KY 42002-7901.

         In 2008, the Carlisle County Board of Education was awarded the PEAK, Public Education Achieves in Kentucky, award from the Kentucky School Boards Association. This was in recognition of the PALs program. PALs are high school students serving as mentors to pre-school students.

         The Four Rivers Foundation was awarded the PEAK award in 2010. This program was created by Robbie & Lisa Rudolph to support education in Carlisle, Fulton, Fulton City, and Hickman County School Districts. 

          In March, 2011 the American School Boards Journal awarded Carlisle County a MAGNA award for districts under 5000 enrollment. 

Information about Carlisle County is available at

Learners Today, Leaders Tomorrow